Free UniversE-ity

A site for self-determination and against the enclosure of knowledge

Luke O’Donovan and the Criminalization of Self-Defense

Prison Books Collective

Luke-is-the-fucking-greatest-300x300From Mask Magazine

My name is Luke O’Donovan. In the early morning of January 1st, 2013, I was attacked by a group of men at a party because of my sexuality. In an attempt to defend myself from the attack I thought could end my life I stabbed 5 of them, while also being stabbed 3 times myself. It is regrettable that anyone had to come to harm, but given the choice of whether to lose my life to a hateful attack or fight for the chance to live, I will always choose the ferocious refusal to go quietly into the night. This refusal was not fueled by hate for my attackers, but by my love for life. It is this passion for life that came in conflict with my attackers, and this same passion that was arrested by the cops and is being punished by the courts…

View original post 3,382 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 8, 2014 by .
